Since I was raised in Missouri & Michigan (albeit born here in Casper), I have spent many a day arguing with friends over whether or not Wyoming was considered to be part of the Midwest. In case you were wondering, my vote was always a resounding, "No... it's not!!!"

The first thing I always point out is the fact that Wyo is in the Mountain Time Zone. That usually sparks a point about Michigan being on EST (Eastern Standard Time), to which I have no comeback.

My second point is usually map placement. There are only 2 states really keeping Wyo from being considered West. Well, after years of debating, I finally decided to do some actual research.

The Midwest as defined by U.S. Census Bureau are 12 states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin. Thank you Census Bureau for the clarification.

If you didn't know, also according to U.S. Census Bureau, Wonderful Wyoming is part of the 8 state region referred to as (duh), the Mountain States, sometimes referred to as the Interior West, which may be the cause of the confusion. The other states are : Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico & Utah.

Shawn Jackson, Town Square Media
Shawn Jackson, Town Square Media

All I have left to say is: I TOLD YA SO!!! Now you're ready for Jeopardy.

104.7 KISS-FM logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

10 Facts About Wyoming That You May Not Know

More From 104.7 KISS-FM