On Nov. 27, three Natrona County Sheriff's officers at the jail responded to a cell where an inmate had wrapped an article of clothing around her neck to try to commit suicide.

Sgt. Cassie Courtney, Deputy Megan Davidson and Deputy Shayna Cox immediately removed the clothing restricting the inmate's breathing, Sheriff Gus Holbrook said Wednesday.

"The quick actions of Sgt. Courtney, Deputy Davidson and Deputy Cox prevented a possible tragic ending to the situation," Holbrook said. "Their actions reflect great credit upon themselves and the Natrona County Sheriff's Office."

Holbrook then presented them with letters of commendation for their actions at the Sheriff's Office's annual awards ceremony at the Old Courthouse.

He and other Sheriff's officers recognized others for their years of service, for saving lives, and the efforts of a civilian employee, and detention and peace officers.

The honorees put in long hours in difficult circumstances, often miss family events, and rarely receive the gratitude they deserve for their work that saves lives, pets and property, Holbrook said.

"I want to take this opportunity to publicly thank each and every employee of this office, and I look forward to our continued success as we serve the citizens of this county," he said.

These are the awards and those who received them:

Thirty Year Service Awards:

  • Sgt. Rhody Ridley.
  • Deputy John Wienke.

Twenty Year Service Awards:

  • Lt. John Harlin.
  • Sgt. Chad Frimml.
  • Deputy Ben Britton.

Medal of Valor/Life Saving Medal:

  • Cpl. Kevin Norcross.
  • Sgt. Steven Leete.

Life Saving Medal:

  • Deputy Roger Means (two awards).

Letter of Commendation:

  • Sgt. Aaron Shatto.
  • Deputy Sandy Arnold.
  • Sgt. Cassie Courtney.
  • Deputy Megan Davidson.
  • Deputy Shayna Cox.

Civilian Employee of the Year Award:

  • Stephanie Reed.

Detention Officer of the Year Award:

  • Deputy Craig Kirby.

Peace Officer of the Year Award:

  • Deputy Mark Bahr.

More From 104.7 KISS-FM